On this page
Short answer
As of October 2026, GoStudent UK charges from £22.71 per 50-minute lesson, with price examples based on a 12-month membership: about £124 a month for 4 lessons or £322 for 12. Alternatives are TaleemSquare (£69 a month for two 45-minute lessons a week, cancel any time), MyTutor (from £26 an hour, pay as you go), Tutorful (about £33 to £36 an hour), Explore Learning (one-to-one from £159 a month) and National Learning Group (£39.90 per 40 minutes).
Key takeaways
- GoStudent UK lessons are 50 minutes, from £22.71; on 12-month examples, 4 lessons a month cost about £124.
- Its terms give a 14-day cancellation period, then renew automatically unless you stop the renewal 7 days before the term ends.
- A free, no-card trial lesson lets you try a tutor before you face the contract question.
- Alternatives range from pay-as-you-go marketplaces to monthly plans, including TaleemSquare from £69 a month.
An alternative to consider: TaleemSquare
- Format
- Live one-to-one math lessons online
- Price
- From £69 a month for 2 classes a week (about £8.63 a class)
- Fees and contract
- No registration fee, no contract, cancel any month
- First step
- Free 45-minute assessment, then a 4-class money-back promise
How we wrote this
TaleemSquare offers online one-to-one tutoring, so we compete with GoStudent and are one of the alternatives listed here. Prices and policies come from GoStudent's own pages and the other sources listed at the end, checked in October 2026.
GoStudent matches your child with an online tutor, offers a free trial lesson, and sells lessons in monthly packages. For many families the sticking point is not the tutoring but the small print: price examples that assume a 12-month membership, automatic renewal and notice deadlines.
This guide sets out what GoStudent UK publishes about cost and cancellation, who it suits, and five alternatives with their prices as of October 2026.
How does GoStudent UK work?
GoStudent starts with a free trial lesson, which it describes as non-binding, with no card or commitment needed. It then matches your child with a tutor based on personality, learning level and goals, and you buy a package of 50-minute one-to-one lessons. Subjects include maths, English, sciences and languages, from primary school to A-level, plus SATs and 11+ support.
Lessons are booked and rescheduled through GoStudent's app or dashboard. An optional add-on, GoStudent Learning, costs £14.90 a month with the first month free.
How much does GoStudent cost in the UK?
GoStudent publishes a base price of £24.99 for a 50-minute one-to-one lesson, and the price per lesson falls as you book more lessons a month. Its worked examples all assume a 12-month membership.
| Item | Per 50-minute lesson | About per hour | Per month | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Base price, one-to-one | £24.99 | £29.99 | Not stated | Not stated |
| 4 lessons a month, 12-month membership | £30.97 | £37.16 | About £124 | About £1,487 |
| 12 lessons a month, 12-month membership | £26.84 | £32.21 | About £322 | About £3,865 |
| Headline "from" price | £22.71 | £27.25 | Not shown | Not shown |
| GoStudent Learning add-on | n/a | n/a | £14.90, first month free | n/a |
We worked out the hourly figures by multiplying the 50-minute price by 1.2, and the monthly and yearly totals by multiplying the lesson price by the number of lessons. The price page gives examples for 4 and 12 lessons a month, so check the calculator for 6 or 8.
GoStudent's pages also quote other figures. The maths page says tuition starts "as low as £21.99 per session", and the FAQ gives £24.99 to £38.99 depending on membership. Ask for the exact lesson price and term in writing before you pay.
What are GoStudent's membership length and cancellation terms?
These points come from GoStudent's UK terms and conditions (last updated 27 August 2025, governed by the law of England and Wales). Read the current version before you sign, as this is a summary and not legal advice.
- Length: The price examples assume 12 months. The FAQ refers to cancelling "after the selected minimum term" without stating how long it is, so confirm the term before paying.
- Withdrawal: You have a 14-day cancellation period from the day the contract was agreed. If you withdraw after lessons have started, you pay for those already provided.
- Renewal: The contract extends with another package unless you stop the renewal at least 7 days before the end of the contract period.
- Ending early: After the 14 days, the terms say you can no longer terminate the contract or reclaim what you paid for lessons, apart from extraordinary cancellation. For GoFlex packages of 12 months or longer, you may end early up to 14 days before each recharge date, with a price adjustment fee. GoStudent's help centre also says a cancellation fee applies, without giving an amount on that page.
- Lessons: You can reschedule up to 60 minutes before a lesson. Later changes and no-shows cost one lesson, and unused monthly lessons cannot be carried past the next recharge date.
Who is GoStudent best for?
GoStudent suits families who already know they want weekly lessons for a year or more and would rather have a tutor chosen for them than browse profiles. The free, no-card trial lowers the risk of the first lesson, and one provider can cover several subjects, including languages, for the same child or for siblings.
It is a weaker fit if you want to test tutoring for a month or two, expect an irregular schedule, or are watching the budget closely: 12 lessons a month works out at about £322. The tutoring may be excellent, but the commitment is the main thing to weigh.
What are the best alternatives to GoStudent?
| Option | Format | Published price | About 8 lessons a month | Commitment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TaleemSquare | Managed one-to-one, 45-minute lessons | £69, £95 or £119 a month for 2, 3 or 4 lessons a week | £69 | Monthly, cancel any time |
| MyTutor | Marketplace, you choose the tutor | From £26 an hour (tiers £25+, £45+, £65+) | About £208 at £26 | Pay as you go |
| Tutorful | Marketplace, tutors set their rates | Averages an hour: primary £33.01, GCSE £35.86 | About £264 to £287 | Pay per lesson |
| Explore Learning (online) | One-to-one online membership | £159 a month once a week, £259 twice a week | £259 | Monthly, no joining fee |
| NLG | Managed one-to-one, 40-minute lessons | From £39.90 a lesson | About £319 | Billed weekly, 4 weeks' written notice |
1. TaleemSquare: one-to-one lessons billed monthly
TaleemSquare matches your child with a tutor for live 45-minute lessons on an interactive whiteboard, following the National Curriculum and GCSE. Plans are £69, £95 and £119 a month for two, three and four lessons a week, which is about £11.50, £10.56 and £9.92 an hour. There is a free 45-minute assessment first with no card needed, no registration fee, and you can cancel any time, with the change taking effect at the end of the billing month.
If your child is not more confident after the first four paid classes, those classes are refunded in full, and a tutor rematch is free. TaleemSquare was founded in 2023, so it has a shorter track record than most names here. See pricing and how it works for families in the UK.
2. MyTutor: choose the tutor, pay as you go
MyTutor is a marketplace where tutors set their own prices from £26 an hour, in tiers of £25+, £45+ and £65+. Its pricing page says there are no sign-up fees or subscriptions, and you pay nothing until you have chatted to a tutor in a free 15-minute meeting and booked a lesson. It suits parents who want to choose and compare, and who prefer no contract at all.
3. Tutorful: a wide spread of levels, paid lesson by lesson
Tutorful is another marketplace. Its own guide (published in 2024 and updated in March 2025) gives average hourly rates of £33.01 for primary, £34.47 for KS3, £35.86 for GCSE and about £41.12 for 11+. According to Tutorful's terms, you can cancel a booking without charge with more than 24 hours' notice, and your card is charged after each lesson, so there is no long plan to exit.
4. Explore Learning: monthly one-to-one online
Explore Learning sells monthly memberships for children aged 4 to 16. One-to-one online tuition is £159 a month for one session a week or £259 for two, with no joining fee, Direct Debit on the 1st of the month, and £10 off for a second child. Book its free online trial first. Explore does not state session length on its pricing page.
5. National Learning Group: managed weekly billing
NLG offers one-to-one lessons of 40 minutes from £39.90 for primary, secondary and GCSE, £46 for A-level and £43.90 for SEND, which is about £59.85 an hour at the entry price. Tutors are described as DBS checked. Lessons are billed weekly, and cancelling one-to-one tutoring needs 4 weeks' written notice after a 14-day cooling-off period.
How do you choose between GoStudent and the alternatives?
- You want no commitment at all: a marketplace such as MyTutor or Tutorful, paying per lesson.
- You want a matched tutor but not a year-long plan: compare monthly services (TaleemSquare, Explore Learning) with GoStudent's shortest option, and ask what each costs to leave.
- You want to choose the tutor yourself: MyTutor or Tutorful, using free meetings or trial lessons to compare.
- You want a tutor chosen for you and are happy to commit for a year: GoStudent may suit, provided you have the price and term in writing.
- You need languages or science as well: GoStudent and the marketplaces cover them. TaleemSquare covers maths, English, reading and writing.
Whichever you choose, compare the cost of an hour of teaching, not the lesson price, as lessons run 40, 45, 50 and 60 minutes. Our guide to the best online maths tutoring in the UK compares eight providers side by side.
What to do next
- Ask GoStudent, or any provider you are considering, for the price per lesson, the contract length and the cost of ending early, in writing.
- Use free meetings and trial lessons to see how your child responds to two different tutors.
- Book a free 45-minute assessment with TaleemSquare, or see typical prices in our guide to maths tutor costs in the UK.
Sources
- 1.GoStudent UK, Prices 50-minute lessons, £24.99 base price, £22.71 headline price, £26.84 and £30.97 examples on a 12-month membership, GoStudent Learning add-on, free trial. Checked Oct 2026.
- 2.GoStudent UK, Terms and conditions (last updated 27 August 2025) Cancellation period, automatic renewal, rescheduling and credit rules, England and Wales law. Checked Oct 2026.
- 3.MyTutor, Pricing Price tiers (£25+, £45+, £65+), from £26 an hour, pay as you go, no sign-up fees or subscriptions, free 15-minute meeting. Checked Oct 2026.
- 4.Tutorful, How much does a tutor cost? Average hourly rates by level and subject, published June 2024 and updated March 2025. Checked Oct 2026.
- 5.Explore Learning, Pricing One-to-one membership prices, no joining fee, sibling discount, Direct Debit on the 1st. Checked Oct 2026.
- 6.National Learning Group, Online tutoring prices £39.90 per 40-minute lesson, weekly billing, 4 weeks' written notice, DBS checked. Checked Oct 2026.
Written and fact-checked by the TaleemSquare Editorial Team
We research every figure against the provider's own pages or independent sources, list them above, and update posts when prices or policies change. See our editorial process and teaching method.